Tuitions & Fees Information

Tuition and Fees Schedule

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2017-2018 Academic Year

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Nonresident tuition (out-of-state and international) is calculated each year by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Fall 2017

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1$753.2511161.25
21132.5021948.50
31511.7532735.75
41891.0043523.00
52270.2554310.25
62649.5065097.50
73028.7575884.75
83408.0086672.00
93787.2597459.25
104166.50108246.50
114545.75119033.75
124925.00129821.00
135304.251310608.25
145683.501411395.50
156062.751512182.75
166436.001612964.00
176799.251713735.25
187162.501814506.50
197525.751915277.75
207889.002016049.00
218252.252116820.25
228615.502217591.50
238978.252318362.75
249342.002419134.00

Spring 2018

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1753.2511161.25
21132.5021948.50
31511.7532735.75
41891.0043523.0
52270.2554310.25
62649.5065097.50
73028.7575884.75
83408.0086672.00
93787.2597459.25
104166.50108246.50
114545.75119033.75
124925.00129821.0
135304.251310608.25
145683.501411392.50
156062.751512182.75
166436.01612964.00
176799.251713735.25
187162.501814506.50
197525.751915277.75
207889.002016049.00
218252.252116820.25
228615.502217591.50
238978.752318362.75
249342.002419134.00

Summer 2018

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1$735.3711143.37
21096.7421912.74
31458.1132682.11
41819.4843451.48
52180.8554220.85
62542.2264990.22
72903.5975759.59
83264.9686528.96
93626.3397298.33
103987.70108067.70
114349.07118837.07
124710.44129606.44
1

Included in the amounts above are Tuition, Graduate Tuition, Designated Tuition, Graduate Designated Tuition Differential, Student Service Fee, Student Center Fee, Technology Fee, Library Fee, Recreational Sports Fee, International Education Fee, Advisement Center Fee, Medical Fee, OneCard Service Fee, Records Fee, and Intercollegiate Athletic Fee.

Course-related or program-related fees are examples of fees not included in the above estimates. Please review Explanation of Fees in this catalog.

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2018-2019 Academic Year

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Nonresident tuition (out-of-state and international) is calculated each year by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Fall 2018 - Spring 2019

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1753.251$1161.25
21132.5021948.50
31511.7532735.75
41891.0043523.00
52270.2554310.25
62649.5065097.50
73028.7575884.75
83408.0086672.00
93787.2597459.25
104166.50108246.50
114545.75119033.75
124925.00129821.00
135304.251310608.25
145683.501411395.50
156062.751512182.75
166436.001612964.00
176799.251713735.25
187162.501814506.50
197525.751915277.75
207889.002016049.00
218252.252116820.25
228615.502217591.50
238978.752318362.75
249342.002419134.00

Summer 2019

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1735.3711143.37
21096.7421912.74
31458.1132682.11
41819.4843451.48
52180.8554220.85
62542.2264990.22
72903.5975759.59
83264.9686528.96
93626.3397298.33
103987.70108067.70
114349.07118837.07
124710.44129606.44
1

Included in the amounts above are Tuition, Graduate Tuition, Designated Tuition, Graduate Designated Tuition Differential, Student Service Fee, Student Center Fee, Technology Fee, Library Fee, Recreational Sports Fee, International Education Fee, Advisement Center Fee, Medical Fee, OneCard Service Fee, Records Fee, and Intercollegiate Athletic Fee.

Course-related or program-related fees are examples of fees not included in the above estimates. Please review Explanation of Fees in this catalog.

Explanation of Fees

The following information is not intended to be comprehensive and is subject to change. Tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or by action of the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. The following tuition, fees, and charge information should only be used as a guideline for estimating costs. For clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of tuition, fees, charges, and deposits, contact the office or administrative unit from which the charge or refund originated.

Statutory Tuition: Resident students pay $50 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2017-18 and $50 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2018-19. Nonresident students (out-of-state and international) pay $458 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2017-18 and $458 per semester credit hour during academic year 2018-19. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board calculates each year the nonresident tuition. Students enrolled in the same course for the third or more time will be charged a rate up to the non-resident tuition rate for the hours associated with the course even if the student normally qualifies for in-state tuition. Resident students who reach the “excessive hour limit” will be charged a set rate per hour (see Tuition for Excessive Undergraduate Hours within this chapter for further details).

Designated Tuition is charged at the rate of $178.00 per semester credit hour during academic year 2017-18. Designated tuition is charged at the rate of $178.00 per semester credit hour during academic year 2018-19. In addition, graduate designated tuition differential will be charged at the rate of $21.50 per credit hour for academic years 2017-18 and 2018-19.

Graduate Tuition Increment: Graduate tuition is charged at the rate of $50.00 per semester credit hour for academic year 2017-18 and 2018-19.

Student Service Fee: The student service fee per semester credit hour is $16 for for academic year 2017-18 and 2018-19 ($8 per summer semester) (not exceeding $250 per semester and $125 per summer session). The fee supports the Intramural Program, the Student Life Support Programs, and the Extramural Programs. The fee provides admission to athletic events at Sam Houston State under the auspices of the Department of Athletics.

Student Center Fee: The student center fee is required at the rate of $100 per semester ($100 per summer session) for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19 and is used to fund the Lowman Student Center programs and activities.

Technology Fee (Formerly Computer Use Fee): This fee is charged at a rate of $34 per semester credit hour for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19. It is used for the training of students, faculty and staff, and for providing support services for operation, maintenance, and replacement of computer hardware and software.

Recreational Sports Fee: Legislative action authorizes a recreational sports fee not to exceed $100 per semester for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19. It may be used to purchase equipment for and/or construct, operate, maintain recreational sports facilities and programs.

International Education Fee: This fee is charged at the rate of $2 per semester for academic years 2017-18 and 2018-19. The International Education Fee is used only to assist students participating in international student exchange or study programs.

Library Fee - Graduate: Board action authorizes a graduate library fee of $10 per semester credit hour for academic years 2017-18 and 2018-19. The library fee directly benefits students by supporting their classroom and research needs. The Newton Gresham Library uses this fund to purchase books, add electronic databases, and new journal subscriptions.

Medical Fee: A fee of $75 per semester is charged for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19. This fee covers services at the University Health Center.

Advising Fee: A fee of $66 per semester is charged for academic year 2017-18 and 2018-19. This fee will be charged to fund advising, mentoring, and academic support services for students.

Records Fee: The records fee is $12 per semester for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19. The fee provides funding for positions, software maintenance, and other miscellaneous expenses incurred by the Office of the Registrar.

OneCard Service Fee: The OneCard Service Fee is $19 per semester for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19. The OneCard fee funds the existing university ID and disbursement program and the Student Financial Center.

Intercollegiate Athletic Fee: A fee of $19.75 per semester credit hour ($ 9.87 per summer semester credit hour) is charged for academic year 2017-18 and academic year 2018-19. This fee will be used to support Intercollegiate Athletic programs.

Other Fees

Audit Fee: A $50 fee per course that is audited. 

Distance Learning Fee: A fee of $101 per credit hour is charged in addition to tuition and mandatory fees when a course is designated as an electronically delivered (internet) distance learning course. 

Lab Fee: Lab fees are charged at the rate of $8 each course with a lab component.

Music Fee: Music fees are charged for music courses that require individual instruction. (charged per course)

Semester credits Fee
1 semester credit hour:$30
2 semester credit hours:$60
3 semester credit hours:$75
4 semester credit hours:$75

International Study Fee: A fee of $75 per semester charged to international students for services provided through the Office of International Programs.

"Three Peat" Tuition: In order to provide for loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time will be charged a statutory tuition rate up to the non-resident rate. The rate is currently $168 per semester credit hour.

Payment Plan Enrollment Fee: a non-refundable fee of $30 is assessed to students who enroll or opt-in for enrollment into an installment payment plan.

Late Installment Payment Penalty: A $25 late fee is charged for each installment payment received after the installment due date.

The Woodlands Center Fee (passed through the Board as the University Center Fee): A fee of $75 / SCH for courses taught at The Woodlands Center.

(MITC) Multi-institution teaching center fee: A fee of $75 / SCH for courses taught at a MITC.

Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes

The Texas Legislature and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board establish the rules and regulations for determining residence classification. Texas residency for tuition purposes is generally obtained by residing and being gainfully employed in Texas for 12 consecutive months immediately prior to enrollment in any college or university, by being a dependent of a Texas resident (an individual who is claimed as a dependent for federal income tax purposes by the individual’s parent or legal guardian by the 12th class day of the semester in which the student is registering and for the tax year preceding that same semester).

A nonresident student may qualify to pay in-state tuition by meeting the requirements of a tuition waiver. Current tuition waiver options include but are not limited to

  1. the student or his/her spouse or parent is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and their home of record is Texas;
  2. the student or his/her spouse or parent is employed at least half-time by an institution of higher education in Texas as a teacher or professor;
  3. the student or his/her spouse or parent has a teaching or research assistantship at any Texas institution of higher education on at least a half-time basis;
  4. the student holds a competitive scholarship awarded by the University of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer; or
  5. the student or student’s family has been transferred to Texas by a company in keeping with the state’s Economic Development and Diversification Program.

By state law, the student has the responsibility of registering under the proper residence classification. If a student has knowledge of an error in his/her residence classification for tuition purposes, it is the student’s responsibility to notify the Residence Classification Officer immediately. For more information concerning the rules and regulations for determining Texas residence classification, please contact:

Residence Classification Officer
Sam Houston State University
Box 2418
Huntsville, Texas 77341-2478
or call (936) 294-1059