Tuitions & Fees

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2020-2021 Academic Year - Graduate Students

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Nonresident tuition (out-of-state and international) is calculated each year by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Fall 2020

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1 $707.85 1 $1116.85
2 1140.70 2 1958.70
3 1573.55 3 2800.55
4 2006.40 4 3642.40
5 2439.25 5 4484.25
6 2872.10 6 5326.10
7 3304.95 7 6167.95
8 3737.80 8 7009.80
9 4170.65 9 7851.65
10 4603.50 10 8693.50
11 5036.35 11 9535.35
12 5469.20 12 10377.20
13 5902.05 13 11219.05
14 6334.90 14 12060.90
15 6753.75 15 12888.75
16 7169.00 16 13713.00
17 7584.25 17 14537.25
18 7999.50 18 15361.50
19 8414.75 19 16185.75
20 8830.00 20 17010.00
21 9245.25 21 17834.25
22 9660.50 22 18658.50
23 10075.75 23 19482.75
24 10491.00 24 19577.75

Spring 2021

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1 $707.85 1 $1116.85
2 1140.70 2 1958.70
3 1573.55 3 2800.55
4 2006.40 4 3642.40
5 2439.25 5 4484.25
6 2872.10 6 5326.10
7 3304.95 7 6167.95
8 3737.80 8 7009.80
9 4170.65 9 7851.65
10 4603.50 10 8693.50
11 5036.35 11 9535.35
12 5469.20 12 10377.20
13 5902.05 13 11219.05
14 6334.90 14 12060.90
15 6753.75 15 12888.75
16 7169.00 16 13713.00
17 7584.25 17 14537.25
18 7999.50 18 15361.50
19 8414.75 19 16185.75
20 8830.00 20 17010.00
21 9245.25 21 17834.25
22 9660.50 22 18658.50
23 10075.75 23 19482.70
24 10491.00 24 19577.75

Summer 2021

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1 $689.05 1 $1098.05
2 1103.10 2 1921.10
3 1517.15 3 2744.15
4 1931.20 4 3567.20
5 2345.25 5 4390.25
6 2759.30 6 5213.30
7 3173.35 7 6036.35
8 3587.40 8 6859.40
9 4001.45 9 7682.45
10 4415.50 10 8505.50
11 4829.55 11 9328.55
12 5243.60 12 10151.60

Course-related or program-related fees are examples of fees not included in the above estimates. Please review Explanation of Fees in this catalog.

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2021-2022 Academic Year - Graduate Students

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Nonresident tuition (out-of-state and international) is calculated each year by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

Fall 2021 - Spring 2022

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1 $725.85 1 $1134.85
2 1176.70 2 1994.70
3 1627.55 3 2854.55
4 2078.40 4 3714.40
5 2529.25 5 4574.25
6 2980.10 6 5434.10
7 3430.95 7 6293.95
8 3881.80 8 7153.80
9 4332.65 9 8013.65
10 4783.50 10 8873.50
11 5234.35 11 9733.35
12 5685.20 12 10593.20
13 6136.05 13 11453.05
14 6586.90 14 12312.90
15 7023.75 15 13158.75
16 7457.00 16 14001.00
17 7890.25 17 14843.25
18 8323.50 18 15685.50
19 8756.75 19 16527.75
20 9190.00 20 17370.00
21 9623.25 21 18212.25
22 10056.50 22 19054.50
23 10489.75 23 19896.75
24 10923.00 24 20739.00

Summer 2022

See below; subject to additional fees.1

Texas ResidentNonresident
Semester Hours Amount Semester Hours Amount
1 $707.05 1 $1116.05
2 1139.10 2 1957.10
3 1571.15 3 2798.15
4 2003.20 4 3639.20
5 2435.25 5 4480.25
6 2867.30 6 5321.30
7 3299.35 7 6162.35
8 3731.40 8 7003.40
9 4163.45 9 7844.45
10 4595.50 10 8685.50
11 5027.55 11 9526.55
12 5459.60 12 10367.60

Course-related or program-related fees are examples of fees not included in the above estimates. Please review Explanation of Fees in this catalog.

Tuition and Fees Schedule 2020-2021 Academic Year - Osteopathic Medical Students

Year 1 Cost (2020-2021)

Annual Program Fee: $55,000

Tuition & Fees (to be assessed as a program fee)

Fall 2020: Program Fee $27,500

Spring 2021: Program Fee $27,500

Additional charges for books and health insurance may be assessed at the time of registration

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System.

Year 2 Cost (2021-2022)

Annual Program Fee: $55,000

Tuition & Fees (to be assessed as a program fee)

Fall 2020: Program Fee $27,500

Spring 2021: Program Fee $27,500

Additional charges for books and health insurance may be assessed at the time of registration

All tuition and fees are correct as of the date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System.

Explanation of Fees

Osteopathic Medical Student

Program Fee: Tuition and Fees (to be assessed as a program fee) at the annual rate of $55,000 for academic years 2020-2021 and 2021-2022.

The above information is not intended to be comprehensive and is subject to change. Program fees, tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or by action of the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. The above program fee, tuition, fees, and charge information should only be used as a guideline for estimating costs. For clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of program fees, tuition, fees, charges, and deposits, contact the office or administrative unit from which the charge or refund originated.

The following Explanation of Fees section does not pertain to Osteopathic Medical Students unless otherwise stated.

The following information is not intended to be comprehensive and is subject to change. Tuition, fees, and charges are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or by action of the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. The following tuition, fees, and charge information should only be used as a guideline for estimating costs. For clarification of any matter relating to payment or refund of tuition, fees, charges, and deposits, contact the office or administrative unit from which the charge or refund originated.

Statutory Tuition: Resident students pay $50 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2020-21 and $50 tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2021-22. Nonresident students (out-of-state and international) pay $459 in tuition per semester credit hour during academic year 2020-21. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board calculates each year the nonresident tuition. Students enrolled in the same course for the third or more time will be charged a rate up to the non-resident tuition rate for the hours associated with the course even if the student normally qualifies for in-state tuition. Resident students who reach the “excessive hour limit” will be charged a set rate per hour (see Tuition for Excessive Undergraduate Hours within this chapter for further details).

Designated Tuition is charged at the rate of $194.00 per semester credit hour during academic year 2020-21 and 2021-22. In addition, graduate designated tuition differential will be charged at the rate of $26.25 per credit hour for academic years 2020-21 and 2021-22.

Graduate Tuition Increment: Graduate tuition is charged at the rate of $50.00 per semester credit hour for academic year 2020-21 and 2021-22.

Institutional Services Fee:  The institutional services fee is charged at a rate of $75 per semester credit hour for academic year 2020-21 and at a rate of $93 per semester credit hour for academic year 2021-22.  The fee funds critical support services and infrastructure which allow for continued support of existing services and operations and allows for expansion of programs and services.

Student Service Fee: The student service fee per semester credit hour is $17.60 for academic year 2020-21 and 2021-22 ($8.80 per summer semester) (not exceeding $250 per semester and $125 per summer session). The fee supports the Intramural Program, the Student Life Support Programs, and the Extramural Programs. The fee provides admission to athletic events at Sam Houston State under the auspices of the Department of Athletics.

Student Center Fee: The student center fee is required at the rate of $100 per semester ($100 per summer session) for academic year 2020-21 and academic year 2021-22 and is used to fund the Lowman Student Center programs and activities.

Recreational Sports Fee: Legislative action authorizes a recreational sports fee not to exceed $100 per semester for academic year 2020-21 and academic year 2021-22. It may be used to purchase equipment for and/or construct, operate, maintain recreational sports facilities and programs.

Medical Fee: A fee of $75 per semester is charged for academic year 2020-21 and academic year 2021-22. This fee covers services at the University Health Center.

Intercollegiate Athletic Fee: A fee of $20 per semester credit hour ($ 10 per summer semester credit hour) is charged for academic year 2020-21 and academic year 2021-22. This fee will be used to support Intercollegiate Athletic programs.

Other Fees

Audit Fee: A $50 fee per course that is audited. 

Distance Learning Fee: A fee of $101 per credit hour is charged in addition to tuition and mandatory fees when a course is designated as an electronically delivered (internet) distance learning course. 

Lab Fee: Lab fees are charged at the rate of $8 each course with a lab component.

College of Science & Engineering Technology Lab Fee (per lab):  charged at rate of $16 per lab

Music Fee: Music fees are charged for music courses that require individual instruction. (charged per course)

Semester credits Fee
1 semester credit hour: $30
2 semester credit hours: $60
3 semester credit hours: $75
4 semester credit hours: $75

International Study Fee: A fee of $75 per semester charged to international students for services provided through the Office of International Programs.

"Three Peat" Tuition: In order to provide for loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time will be charged a statutory tuition rate up to the non-resident rate. The rate is currently $168 per semester credit hour.

Payment Plan Enrollment Fee: (Pertains to all students enrolled in payment plan including Osteopathic Medical Students) A non-refundable fee of $30 is assessed to students who enroll or opt-in for enrollment into an installment payment plan.

Late Installment Payment Penalty: (Pertains to all students enrolled in a payment plan including Osteopathic Medical Students) A $25 late fee is charged for each installment payment received after the installment due date.

The Woodlands Center Fee (passed through the Board as the University Center Fee): A fee of $75 / SCH for courses taught at The Woodlands Center.

Program Fees:

College of Business Administration:  This fee is charged at a rate of $4 per semester credit hour for all enrolled credit hour for academic year 2020-21 and at a rate of $8 per semester credit hour for academic year 2021-22.  This fee is charged to students who are majoring in programs within the College of Business Administration.

Engineering Technology Fee:  This fee is charged at a rate of $4 per semester credit hour for all enrolled credit hour for academic year 2020-21 and at a rate of $8 per semester credit hour for academic year 2021-22.  This fee is charged to students who are majoring in programs within the Department of Engineering Technology.

Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes

The Texas Legislature and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board establish the rules and regulations for determining residence classification. Texas residency for tuition purposes is generally obtained by establishing domicile and proving residency in Texas for 12 consecutive months immediately prior to enrollment at the university or by being a dependent of a Texas resident (an individual who is claimed as a dependent for federal income tax purposes by the individual’s parent or legal guardian by the census day, usually the 12th class day, of the semester in which the student is registering and for the most recent tax year).

A nonresident student may qualify to pay in-state tuition by meeting the requirements of a tuition waiver. Current tuition waiver options include but are not limited to

  1. the student or his/her spouse or parent is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and their home of record is Texas;
  2. the student or his/her spouse or parent is employed at least half-time by an institution of higher education in Texas as a teacher or professor;
  3. the student or his/her spouse or parent has a teaching or research assistantship at any Texas institution of higher education on at least a half-time basis;
  4. the student holds a competitive scholarship awarded by Sam Houston State University of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer; or
  5. the student or student’s family has been transferred to Texas by a company in keeping with the state’s Economic Development and Diversification Program.

By state law, the student has the responsibility of registering under the proper residence classification. For more information concerning the rules and regulations for determining Texas residence classification, visit residency or contact:

Residence Classification Officer
Sam Houston State University
Box 2418
Huntsville, Texas 77341-2418
(936) 294-1059